Obi’s political train crushes National Assembly members in Anambra


The presidential outing of Mr. Peter Obi under the Labour Party, LP has cost the serving National Assembly members from Anambra State to lose their return bid during the Feb 25 elections.

They were crushed by Obidient moving political train leaving  Senator Ifeanyi Ubah of the Young Peoples Party (YPP),  as a lone survivor.

Reports show that two serving senators and all the 11 House of Representatives members in the state, failed to return to the National Assembly

A clear picture showed that: Senators Uche Ekwunife and Stella Oduah, both of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, who are representing Anambra Central and North Senatorial Districts respectively, lost their seats to the candidates of LP, Senator Victor Umeh and Hon Tony Nwoye respectively.

In Idemili North and South Federal Constituency, Hon Obinna Chidoka of PDP, an incumbent and younger brother of former minister of Aviation, Osita Chidoka lost.

The younger Chidoka lost a seat he had occupied for about 12 years to Mr Uchenna Okonkwo, who is a first timer, and contested on the platform of Labour Party.

In Onitsha North and South Federal Constituency, Hon Lynda Ikpeazu who has for long consolidated her grip on the area also lost to a LP candidate.

In Ogbaru, Chuchu Onyema also lost to a LP candidate and a journalist, Hon Afam Ogene.

In Oyi and Ayamelum Federal Constituency, Hon Vincent Ofumelu lost his seat too. Hon Chinedu Obidigwe of Anambra East and West Federal Constituency also lost his seat, same as the representative of Dunukofia/Njikoka/Anaocha Federal Constituency, Dozie Nwankwo who went for Senate. He also failed to be elected as he was beaten by Senator Victor Umeh.

In Orumba North and South, Hon Okwudili Ezenwankwo lost, just like in Aguata Federal Constituency, where the representative, Hon Chuma Umeoji contested for a seat in the Senate but lost.

In Nnewi North, Nnewi South and Ekwusigo Federal Constituency, Hon Chris Azubogu opted to contest for Senate and lost, while in Ihiala Federal Constituency, Hon Chudi Momah lost.

In Awka North and South Federal Constituency, the incumbent failed to contest, but the seat was also taken away from the PDP. A new politician, and former university teacher, Prof Lilian Orogbu, who contested on the platform of L P, also won.

In all, out of the three senatorial zones, LP took two, leaving one for the YPP candidate, Senator Ifeanyi Ubah. So far, Ubah will be the only lawmaker from Anambra returning to the National Assembly on May 29.

Sen Ifeanyi Ubah

The LP won six out of the 11 House of Representatives seats in the state, while APGA which used to have the majority seats is only left with four, while YPP was able to clinch one.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here