Sen. Shekarau declared winner under NNPP


The Independent Electoral Commission, INEC has declared Sen Ibrahim Shekarau winner of Kano central senatorial seat.

This was announced by INEC returning officer, Tijani Darma. Shekarau polled 456,787 votes to defeat Alhaji Abdulkarim Zaura of All Progressives Congress (APC) who polled 168, 677 votes and Hajiya Laila Buhari of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) who secured 55,237 votes.

Recall that in September 2022, Shekarau, a senator representing Kano central, was listed as the candidate of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) — a party he had dumped in August 2022 for the PDP.

The former governor and minister had left the All Progressives Congress (APC) for the NNPP after months of leadership tussle with Abdullahi Ganduje, governor of Kano.

Shortly after the announcement of the results, Shehu Usman, NNPP’s agent, accused INEC of failing to replace Shekarau who defected from the party to the PDP.

He added that despite a court order directing INEC to accept the name of a fresh candidate, Rufai Hanga, the commission refused to comply.

Yusuf Atta APC’s agent asked INEC to declare Abdulkarim Zaura, the party’s candidate, who came second as the winner because Shekarau did not participate in the election.

However, Darma told the party agents to report their complaints to INEC and the election tribunal that would be set up.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here