Digital Infrastructure For Development : Lagos wins best awards

 Digital Infrastructure For Development
: Lagos wins best awards
The Digital Infrastructure for Development in Nigeria award was won by the Lagos State Government at the 6th edition of the annual Tech Innovation Awards.
The Tech Innovation Awards (TIA), widely known as Nigeria’s ICT Oscars Awards, is an annual event designed to celebrate organisations, individuals, governments and the private sector that have distinguished themselves over the years and are at the forefront of digitalisation with innovative products and services in the ICT sector.
Lagos State Government outshined other States of the Federation to emerge as the best overall State by winning seven awards.
Mr. Hakeem Fahm, the Commissioner for Science and Technology received the award on behalf of the State Government, saying the awards are a reflection of its buoyant tech ecosystem and the push to provide a world-class environment for Information and Communication Technology [ICT].
The feat is an affirmation of the State’s commitment to leveraging ICT for service delivery to the citizens and developing the ICT ecosystem with world-class infrastructure, he said.
Lagos is determined to champion the sector’s growth and sustainability by supporting tech companies, ICT start-ups and other industry members by the administration of Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu,  Fahm said.
“The continuous recognition of Lagos over the years through multiple awards is a reflection of its vision to provide sustainable infrastructure, eliminate the digital divide and democratise digital learning to promote digital literacy. This administration would continue to leverage technology to transform the State’s economy while easing impediments for businesses to flourish”, Fahm said.
He pointed out that Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu, since he assumed office in 2019, has prioritised ICT development and improved service delivery in all MDAs in the State, just as he is transforming Lagos into a Smart City.
The State won its seven awards through Lagos Internal Revenue Services (LIRS) with three awards; Lagos State Infrastructure Maintenance and Regulatory Agency (LASIMRA) with two awards; the Ministry of Science and Technology with one award, while the Honourable Commissioner for Science and Technology, Mr. Hakeem Fahm bagged an award for Special Contribution to the ICT sector.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here